Before I Wake

iifdd3l0e4vkxeeojkju

Released: 2016 FIFF; 2018 US

Director: Mike Flanagan

Cast: Thomas Jane, Kate Bosworth, Jacob Tremblay

After the death of their son Sean, Jessie and Mark Hobson decide to foster a child. They take in a kid named Cody who isn’t what he seems. Cody is quiet and shy but he isn’t an ordinary kid. As the days continue, strange things start to occur in the house from butterflies that disappear to seeing their deceased son all when Cody is asleep and dreaming. But there’s something darker that’s haunting Cody.

This kid is so adorable. I want my kid to look like him, he’s that cute. He’s going to grow up to be a really handsome young man. And seeing Thomas Jane on screen again is always a pleasure. Performances were amazing in this and the heartbreak over the loss of their son, I could feel their pain.

There is some crazy stuff in this film. Things I didn’t expect to happen, that’s for sure. Like oh okay, Cody’s getting some rest- what tHE FUCK?! Mothera is not to be fucked with. This is probably the best child’s nightmare film hands down.

The acting in this was really good for a film like this. I just wish the runtime was a little longer. An hour and twenty just isn’t enough. I feel a film like this deserved a bit more to add some substance to it. The metaphors are beautiful. And I also really dislike large moths. But the story was beautiful. Things that are normal but scary for us as adults, children view differently. Their minds see things in different lights and the imagination creates these monsters.

8/10

 

Leave a comment