The Purge

Purge_Quad_4_3_13

Released: 2013

Director: James DeMonaco

Cast: Lena Heady, Ethan Hawke, Adelaide Kane, Edwin Hodge.

In 2022, the annual purge is about to commence. James Sandin (Hawke) and his family are safe and warm behind their security system. That’s the thing about security systems. They only work if you actually keep the activated. During the Purge, once a year for 12 hours, all crime is legal. Everything including murder. Those who don’t want to be involved can hide away behind tight security. James’ son Charlie brings up a valid question to his parents. Why don’t they take part in the purge instead of hiding? As much as I hate the phrase white privilege…if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck..

The Purge was created by the New Founding Fathers of America or NFFA who overthrew the government and took control. This is some scary possible dystopian shit. Especially with the state of the country right now. I don’t condone this regardless of how successful it is. It’s ridiculous. On one hand, look at the good it does. No violence during the year save for 12 hours on a particular day. They claim it works.

Man, what is it about neighbors in these horror films? And also, kids should never have any sort of code. Once you turn 18, fine you can do whatever you want but until then, NO CODES.

This film angers me so much. I absolutely love every single cast member but these characters piss me off. The film also feels a but empty for me. I know there are a few sequels and a prequel out now so I’m hoping they have some substance to them more than this.

6/10

It was a good idea but I’m not huge on the simple execution. Hopefully that will change in the other films.

Leave a comment